The Traditional Armenian Church and Its Symbolism

adapted from “The Symbolism of the Armenian Church”

written by Reverend Torkon Saraydarian November 1, 1960

The traditional layout of the Armenian Church

The Armenian architecture is for us a real source of inspiration. There are forms which are created by the hands of our emotional, physical or even mental needs. But there are forms, also, which are creations of our soul, through Divine intervention (intuition), beyond time and space, and concecrated throughout the centuries by the prayers, dedication and worship of the people

I believe that our Church has been conceived in such an elevated state on consciousness, and that is why through twenty centuries it is unchanged. The secret of this is that it is not a form, but a materialized, divine IDEA. Reverend Torkom Saraydarian

1. Saint Matthew

2. Saint Mark

3. Saint Luke

4. Saint John

5. Saint Peter

6. Saint Antreas (Andrew)

7. Saint Philip

8. Saint Krikor Lusavorich

9. Simon Gananatzee

10. Saint Bartholomew

11. Saint Thaddeus

12. Madathia

13. Hagopos Alpia

14. Thomas

15. Hagopos Ghepeos

16. Paul (Boghos)

17., 18., 19., 20., The four pillares upon which rests the Gatoghigue (the 4 Gospels)

21. the 5 Doors